The Lee Filters Big Stopper


I’m always banging on about the Lee Filters Big Stopper so I thought I’d show what a difference to an image it can actually make.

I headed down to Durdle Door this evening, I’ve been there countless times but can’t stop shooting along that stretch, tonight there was an extremely low tide and I wanted to see exactly how far the sea level dropped. Hovering in the distance above Portland was a small slither of light with slight gradations in the clouds, I knew that it was pointless shooting the scene normally but with the Big Stopper, I knew the small slither of light would spread and the gradations would be more apparent.

After setting up with a Lee Filters 0.9 hard edged graduated filter in place I took a test shot to calculate the exposure, that gave a reading of 1 second, in good light that would be 16 minutes with the Big Stopper but I added an extra 6 minutes to allow for the light fading. I pressed the shutter release and stood around for 22 minutes while the camera exposed wishing I’d packed a flask! I’ve posted the test shot to show the difference.

Canon 5D Mark II, 16-35mm at 35mm, ISO 200, 1 sec at f13

 

Canon 5D Mark II, 16-35mm at 35mm, ISO 200, 1325 sec at f13

~ by David Baker on 20 February, 2011.

3 Responses to “The Lee Filters Big Stopper”

  1. I often find that with the B&W ND110 filter I have to add an extra stop to what the exposure ‘should’ be (it’s more like +11 stops) – do you find the Big Stopper more accurate?

    • Hi David

      I think it is fairly close to 10 stops in good daylight, but at dawn and dusk you really have to add and subtract a few minutes. I’ll be honest I didn’t think this would turn out as it did as it got dark quickly, which is why it got an extra 6 minutes. I always get a bit nervous when I stop the exposure as often I only have one shot at it…I’m not ashamed to admit a few failures!

      Thanks for reading.

      Dave

  2. thanks for the information, i plan to buy this filter.

Leave a Reply

 
