Kirkstone Pass, Lake District


 

Canon 5d Mark II, 16-35mm at 26mm, ISO 100, 1.6 secs at f16

Taken – 10th February 2011

The Kirkstone Pass is the highest mountain pass open to traffic in the Lake District, linking Ambleside and Patterdale, I visited this same spot in October last year when I snapped my Lee Filters Big Stopper. This was the final day of my recent trip and I had some nice winter sunlight to play with. The image is actually two exposures merged together, due to the position of the sun and extreme contrast it isn’t possible to expose on frame. I exposed for the bright side and sky and then for the lower half, the images were merged together in Photoshop CS5  using layer masks. The Big Stopper stayed in the bag!

The weather reports are showing snow up in the Lakes at the moment, exactly what I was hoping for a few weeks ago……next time!

~ by David Baker on 19 February, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
