Lead in Lines


Canon 5D Mark II, 24mm TSE, ISO100, 0.8 sec at f16

Taken – Saturday 12th June 2010

When I arrived at Horton Tower for dawn on Saturday I had one shot in mind, that being the one above. I had calculated from my previous visit that the sun would rise at almost 90 degrees to the right of the tower and side light the track and verge leading up to the tower, this I had already decided would make for a strong composition and a great lead in line taking the eye from the bottom of the image all the way up to the tower. What I hadn’t anticipated was that the farmer would have been out the day before my visit to cut the grass in the adjoining field, kindly leaving neat rows of freshly cut grass to lead the eye through the image.

I’m pleased with the first shot, its exactly what I wanted, but I much prefer the lines of the cut grass and especially the side lighting of the image below……sometimes the elements just fall into place.

Canon 5D Mark II, 24mm TSE, ISO100, 0.8 sec at f16

Taken – Saturday 12th June 2010

~ by David Baker on 14 June, 2010.

One Response to “Lead in Lines”

  1. I have to agree that the second image is also my favourite.

    That tower is an interesting and very photogenic building. I like the contrast in colour of the red bricks against the greens, yellows and golden light of the fresh cut field.

Leave a Reply

 
