Chapman’s Pool, Dorset, England, UK


Canon 5D MarkII, 16-35mm f2.8 at 16mm, ISO 100, 2.5 secs at f16

Taken – 6th February 2010

Sometimes I wish I had a boat and that is usually when I make the trip down to Chapman’s Pool. Its not the thought of calmly sailing in to the bay and dropping anchor, its the thought of the climb back up the cliff to the car park. In my opinion the climb back up from Chapman’s Pool is the steepest and hardest climb in Dorset and this makes it a special place, because you can spend several hours at Chapman’s Pool and not see a single soul and there aren’t too many spots like that in Dorset.

This trip was a bit of a disaster, on the way down I stepped in to a fresh mud slide and found myself up to my waist in sloppy wet mud. Undeterred I got some shots off and as I left I thought it would be a good idea to wash off in the small waterfall that runs on to the beach. The last thing I needed was to slip, which is exactly what did happen, as I sat in the waterfall all I could think of was the walk back to the car……oh and did I mention it was a freezing February evening!

~ by David Baker on 11 March, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
